My Pagan Journey and Why I Still Wear a Pentacle as a Non-Wiccan

I began my pagan journey with Wicca. Yes, I was a fluffy, new-age, rebellious and attention-seeking teenager. I have a hunch, however, that many of you serious pagans out there who mock the angsty fluff crowd were also fluffy once upon a time. I don’t mean to say that Wicca itself is fluffy (although many will disagree with me on this), but as a prominent gateway to the larger pagan world, it tends to be a melting pot of serious practitioners and fluffy soul-seeking youngsters.

For me, crossing over to the pagan side before the ubiquitous presence of the internet, Wicca really was my only choice. Well, Wicca and an unstructured assortment of random new-agey pagan-esque stuff.

I didn’t grow up with a strong religious upbringing. My mother was a non-church going Christian and my father agnostic. Since I moved out, my mother has been trying harder to raise my youngest siblings according to the Christian faith, regretting that she did not do so with me.

As a child, I was curious about Christianity. I spent some time in both a Catholic and Protestant private school, one of which I specifically begged to go to. I went to the occasional church event, especially to hear choir singing. My brother, too, enjoyed accompanying me to these events (incidentally, he did end up becoming Christian).

Christianity in the end, however, didn’t resonated with me. I briefly dubbed myself agnostic, but this too didn’t feel right. I have too much of a “Luna Lovegood” side to fully embrace agnosticism. The world has always been a magical place to me. Full of faeries and various spirits of the earth. I had a fondness for Native American culture and spirituality as a child and this inspired a lot of my proto-pagan beliefs.

When I entered high school, I still attended the rare church or bible study event, but I also began studying Wicca, playing with Tarot cards and runes, and wearing ridiculous attention-grabbing hippy/gypsy/new-age outfits. Whatever I could do to stand out from the crowd. But, come on, you know how it is! Being an adolescent. It feels like the whole world is watching, so better put on a good show 😉

But it wasn’t all about the attention. I also felt like I finally found my niche. I felt at home in the new-age section of the book store. I never formally joined a coven, but I went to several informal Wiccan meetups. After studying Wicca for sometime and getting to know some of its practitioners, I became discouraged with how female/goddess-centric it was. Although the books teach balance, and a masculine and feminine divinity, the actual practice of Wicca always seemed to stress the feminine. This wasn’t just a minor pet peeve, it ended up becoming a deal-breaker for me. I am very strongly opinionated regarding matters of gender equality and the concept of balance in general (perhaps I will blog about this some other time).

So there I was again, wandering around aimlessly in search of my spirituality, still unaware of the options available to me outside of Wicca (I knew that there were other pagan religions, but I didn’t know how to properly engage with them). I began to refer to myself as an eclectic pagan and took a break from any form of structured practice. I remained an eclectic pagan for quite a few years.

Although no longer Wiccan, I still wore a pentacle. Not everyday, mind you, but whenever it suited me to do so. Recently, I began pursuing a syncretic Gaelic-Heathen path. I needed somewhere to really ground my spirituality and beliefs. A foundation from which to grow. I walk in a liminal reconstructionist, revivalist, neopagan space. Bringing a religion back to life means that it is no longer subject to static academic study. Religion is dynamic, and once an old path is re-opened, it becomes subject to adaptation.

I am tentatively a Gaelic-Heathen, but I can’t simply abandon outlying parts of my spirituality that are still important to me but that don’t fit into a strict Gaelic-Heathen reconstruction. Consider the pagans who originally embraced (by freewill or by force) Christianity. They carried many of their old traditions along. In fact, in every historically documented religion, we can find pieces of older and/or neighboring religious practices. Isn’t this why syncretic reconstructionist paths exist in the first place? Strict syncretic reconstructionists argue that a syncretic religion is the product of many years of mass cultural evolution. But I argue that, on an individual level, we all have cultural baggage. No one is going to abandon years of previous enculturation to embrace a historically accurate reconstruction of a religion.

Perhaps I should add an addendum to my pagan title: semi-reconstructionist neopagan. It’s difficult to assign myself to an accurate label when labels for these different paths are not yet widely agreed upon. But even if they were, should I really have to add a string of modifiers so as not to offend anyone? Several denominations of Christianity hold onto the Christian title, despite each thinking it’s following the “correct” teachings of Jesus. So I’m just not going to worry if I am offending anyone by referring to myself as a Gaelic-Heathen.

I wear, and will continue to wear a pentacle. When I first began my Gaelic-Heathen journey, I thought that I might have to leave the pentacle behind. After all, symbols are powerful. Some people claim that wearing a cross doesn’t make one a Christian, and yet if you wear one, this is what others will think you are. I have heard that one should feel free to wear symbols based on what they mean to the wearer and not to the outside world. Almost a harmless concept, but imagine if the symbol was a Swastika. A symbol that used to have a positive connotation, but now? See my dilemma? Obviously, wearing a pentacle isn’t as taboo as a swastika, but after experiencing some of the extreme exclusionary hostility in heathen circles on the Internet, I was sufficiently intimidated. For a few days, at least. I took some time to mull it over and I thought, hey, wait a second! I can’t let those guys intimidate me. This is my life and my spiritual journey. The pentacle still holds meaning to me. I have a few of them, mostly gifts from my husband. They are sentimental and I still believe in what the pentacle stands for. It is a piece of my past that I do not wish to forget. It represents the beginning of my pagan journey and this alone is reason enough to wear it.

I will not let one person or the entire world intimidate me out of being myself.

Posted on June 15, 2015, in Paganism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great post! I am with on much of what your experience has been and what you said.
    I admit that though I have never had the guts to wear a pentacle in my hometown in public, and that as a pagan and not a Wiccan, i do also very much like what the pentacle stands for, and find that as my beliefs resurge, I feel comfortable incorporating it into my sacred spaces and rituals. I look forward to reading more from you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I still have moments where I feel obliged to leave the pentacle at home. Especially while teaching. I am a TA at my university and I don’t want to ruffle too many feathers. I have dared to wear it on campus, but I usually keep it out of my classroom.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It is a hard situation. Sometimes I attend a Christian church, I think more for the social aspect than naught, but the pastor often talks about oppression and exclusion due to a Christian’s beliefs, yet I feel that Christianity is so main-stream that being a Christian in the US is easy compared to being pagan! Though, I guess in the global community, it’s not that way everywhere.
        Overall though, I think that religion is so personal and yet in a way political that no matter what you believe at some time or another you will feel insecure about it before others.
        At any rate, I relate with you about much of your article, so thank you!

        Liked by 2 people

  2. “I have a hunch, however, that many of you serious pagans out there who mock the angsty fluff crowd were also fluffy once upon a time.”
    Hehe, this principle can apply in quite a number of places.

    Like

  3. That’s totally fine! Wearing it is also a way to possibly find other Pagans or magical folks- I tend to wear Celtic knotwork, but it’s popular enough that it doesn’t signify Celtic Pagan or Druid, and Thor’s hammers are sometimes worn as cultural symbols (though moreso in Scandinavian countries) Some people also just wear pentacles because they like how they look.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Another great post! My spirituality has shifted over the years as well, from the semi-christian beginnings (I think my parents dropped us off at sunday school so they could have some time alone), to various ‘newage’ practices. I was once part of a Goddess type circle, but the group gradually became rife with issues of control, competition & jealousy. They all adored me during a pregnancy, but then I gave birth to a male child. I was welcome to come to the circle, but my babe in arms wasn’t, since he was male, and thus I dropped out of that scene. These days I live a dogma free life of connecting to Creativity and letting it flow. I enjoy my lack of religion, feel free to wear whatever symbols, colors, clothes that might feel inspiring at the moment, & live by the motto, “What other people think is none of my business.” I like the idea that each of us is a unique ‘drop of god’, snowflake, manifestation of unique awesomeness, so our only purpose is to let it flow!! 🙂
    Enjoy the day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Grey Matters

Campus e-zine for Grey School of Wizardry

benebell wen

author + reader

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

Blut und Hexenkunst

All things Hexerei

The Novel Faery

The adventures of a novelist, crazy cat lady, avid tea drinker, and chronic pain sufferer.

All in the Folk

A blog about Germanic Mythology & Folklore & Culture

corvusbruxoiberico.wordpress.com/

A blog to pour down my thoughts and experiences as a solitary Spanish Traditional Witch. And a place to meet and share in a Digital Sabbath... until we meet in Spirit

The Lone Heathen

The Lone Heathen - Solitary Practice In An Overcrowded World

Þunresfolc Heorþ

The thew of Þunresfolc Heorþ

Sundorwīc

5th century religion- 21st century living

The Ealdríce Théodish Fellowship

Anglo-Saxon Theodish Belief

"The Lokean"

...Because that's how it appears in search engines. -Ren (Tyrienne)

Everyday Asperger's

Life through the eyes of a female with Aspergers

Everyday Aspie

Relationships through the eyes of an autistic

amor et mortem

A foray into the phantasmagoria of everyday living by a polytheistic priestess and champion of the Humanities

Foxglove & Firmitas

Life, Death, & the Polytheist Revival

Misty Eyes

following where ancients have gone

Beth Wodandis Designs

Walk Your Path with Audacity

Silver and Gold

Musings of a Vanic Priestess (Freya: The Gold Thread)

The Book Addict's Guide to MBTI:

Literary, Historical & Fictional MBTI

Terri's Airy Fairie World

Musings on Music, Tea, Gardening, Food & Life...

The Dreaming Wood

paganism-natural history-witchcraft

Derek's Magick

My journey into traditional witchcraft

Grumpy Old Witchcraft

Cassandra Latham-Jones

The writings of Hrafnsson

A personal exploration of my Northern Faith. Join me as I stretch my wings and open my mind.

Crows For Dinner

The Wild Hunt for Inner Peace

Arcanus Sinistra

The Hidden Left Hand

