I’m Pretty Tired, I Think I’ll Quit School Now

I’ve been in school for a very long time. Not continuously; there have been breaks, but the breaks were always with pending school in mind. School has always been my happy place. It didn’t matter if I was in a private school, a public school, a homeschool (I was homeschooled for a short while), or a university. I have simply felt at home surrounded by academia.

You might ask why I needed school after the required years were over. Can’t I study on my own? Why yes, yes I can. I’ve never had a problem with independent learning. But I like the school environment – the checkpoints I have to pass in order to get various rewards (stickers, grades, etc) and level up.

I often think of my life as one big video game RPG (yeah, I’m weird). I translate even the smallest mundane tasks into important quests in my head and imagine that I need to finish said task in order to obtain another piece of the map, or whatever it is that I imagine up at the time. This gets me through many unpleasant errands and chores, especially those in bad winter weather, when I don’t feel like going out.

School was an easy way to realize a portion of my life-game outside of my imagination. I didn’t have to pretend that I was leveling up, because I really did.

I started college at 17 as a physics major. My parents agreed to pay for no more than 4 years of college, so it was important that I was efficient with my time there. My first semester was wrought with drama and unfortunate events, so I took the next semester off to get my stuff together. I had changed my major to art just before the end of my first semester. My parents weren’t terribly impressed. As good parents will do, they worried about my future and the practicality of an art degree. They tried to compromise and suggest that I do graphic design instead of froo froo studio arts. I tried to compromise their compromise and suggested animation. I applied to a graphic arts school for animation and was accepted, but another series of setbacks and drama prevented me from going (probably for the best). I don’t think I’d be too happy in today’s animation world. I preferred pencil and paper drawing, not computer tech magic (incidentally, I stopped drawing after this didn’t pan out). My interest in animation was also tied to an interest in film making in general. I considered majoring in film at the local university, but there was a waiting list. I compromised with English thinking “hey, maybe I can be a screen writer.”  As you can see, my “efficient” first four years wasn’t starting out so efficient. My parents were unsettled about my flighty interests and lack of career-oriented plans, but they still guaranteed four-years of funding. Somehow I ended up making a deal with them that I would finish in the originally allotted time (despite the semester set back) in order to secure their confidence in me that I would, indeed finish. So I completed my English degree in 3 years time, making liberal use of summer classes and 20+ credit hour semesters. I also worked part time, so it was quite a challenge. But I did it. And I did it all with stellar grades. I would have had a perfect GPA if not for my first mess-up semester in physics.

Oh, physics. How I love you. How I hate you.

No one told me to major in physics. I wasn’t following orders from my parents. I really wanted to study physics. I had been certain that I wanted to be an astrophysicist since I was 14. Before that, I wanted to be a marine biologist. Either way, science was my jam.

I had skipped a grade before entering high school, but I didn’t skip ahead in math. So, when I started college, I had no calculus background. This wasn’t so unusual. Many students enter college without having taken calculus in high school. But it kinda mattered since I wanted to take the calculus-based physics class, the honors version no less. Other students had successfully taken calculus and physics concurrently and I though I was good enough to do so as well. That didn’t work out for me. A combination of non-academic related issues and my damaged pride (no longer the smartest fish in the pod) led me to give up.

After I graduated, I immediately regretted not following through with physics. I was full of what-ifs. I met my future husband a few days after graduating. He proposed a few months later and agreed to help me go back to school. A year went by before the marriage, and then another semester of waiting before I began my physics studies again. This time, I finished. Not without a lot of stress and effort, mind you. I struggled the first few semesters. Again, life got in the way of my focus. Getting married, moving to a state that I absolutely hated, and thousands of miles from my family – it was a lot to adjust to. But I carried on and eventually got the diploma to prove that I did it. I can even proudly say that my final semester grades in physics were all As. I waffled about continuing to graduate school or teaching high school physics. I was enrolled in a teacher training program for a year, but that didn’t work out. I decided that completing the physics degree was more about proving to myself that I could rather than planning for a future in it (although, I still have moments when I wonder what-if). By the time I finished physics, I was sorely missing literature and humanities studies. I immediately enrolled for a double major in anthropology and German. Now that I was all on my own for funding (no more grants and no more family), I needed to consider efficiency again. Anthropology had to go. I finished German short of three credits to a degree (through no fault of my own – the school just left me hanging and I would have had to put off graduate school for a year just for those three nagging credits, so I let it be).

Well, here I am, finally in graduate school (finished my first year in Comparative Literature) and finally feeling like Forest Gump when he was done running. Is it graduate school in particular or just school? graduate school is certainly something else, but I think I would have loved my time here a lot more when I was younger. I’m just tired now. I’m tired, and I want to do something else besides school. I feel like I will disappoint some people. My husband and some of my other family was hoping I’d get a Ph.D. But I’m really tired. And I’m getting too old for this. I **am** too old for this. I want to enjoy life a little, rather than be tied down by a thousand after school assignments and such. I want to come home and watch TV without feeling guilty for having more important things to do.

I’d like to have more time for my hobbies too. Perhaps even open an Etsy store or start a tea business. So many other things I want to do and school is no longer one of them.

I still have a year left of my Master’s program. I’m going to try to stick it out. I’m getting paid as a TA and tuition is covered, so I might as well. But we’ll see. I’m definitely not going for a PhD though.

Posted on July 16, 2015, in Whatever (Musings, Rants, Daily Life) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. druishbuddhist

    I understand the “getting tired” oart of the educational path. I’ve been enrolled in online studies for 5 years straight (first a tech certificate, then an AA, BA, and now a dual MA, which I have about 2 years left on) and I’m tired. I like school, and it gives me a feeling of accomplishment, but I’m not working in my field, so I am left wondering if it was worth my time and money. Most days, I just don’t know.

    But, in the last couple of weeks, I remembered that I had wanted to attend a Pagan seminary program something like 15 years ago, and discovered that it’s still going strong AND has evolved into a M. Div (Pagan specific) program. So, I’m thinking about adding another 3 years of school after I finish my current studies. I don’t know if I want to take another three years of school for that. I’m tired.

    But, I’ve also had a couple of 2-week breaks between classes in my current program, and not having anything “required” leaves me feeling anxious and, frankly, bored.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve had that bored feeling too, probably what kept me in school so long. But I’ve finally accumulated a long enough list of non-school related things that I want to do that I don’t think I’ll have to worry about getting bored. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Shelly, It’s Anna, crystalruminations girl. I just read your post and wanted to let you know I’ve been there. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Religious Studies and Philosophy from Saint Mary’s College and a Master’s degree in theology from the University of Notre Dame. I started out at Saint Mary’s wanting to be a research biologist. I was lucky to have parents who were supportive of my choice to switch to a less “worthwhile” field, as in, one that made money. My family had high hopes for me once I got the scholarship for my Masters that I would continue on to get my PhD. I thought that too at one point. But by the time I finished my Masters, I was done. I wanted a life too. while getting my Masters I was also teaching at a Catholic high school. For the first time, no less. So I had papers to grade, lessons to plan, papers to write for my Masters classes, which happened once a month on the weekends (LONG classes), not to mention reading to prepare for class. School is tough. It was worth it, and I count it as one of my greatest accomplishments so far. I powered through and did it all straight through. My graduate classes started during the last semester of my senior year and I was also working 2 on-campus jobs. I didn’t have much of a social life. Dating life was pretty much nonexistent. I do think it was easier since I powered through and stayed with it year after year. My life now is quite different, however. I am now a self employed piano tuner. I tune pianos full time and I love it. (Music was the other half of my life – learned the trade from my father). I have a wonderful life and when I am home in the evening, I don’t have to feel guilty for sitting and watching a show, or doing something else that interests me, like spinning fire poi. (Yes, I do that too.) Anyway, I read your article and about your dilemma and wanted to let you know of my story. I understand your dilemma completely. If you can, you should stick with it to at least accomplish the Masters, but if your heart isn’t in it, there’s no way you will enjoy further schooling, no matter how much someone else wants you to. It took my family awhile to get over the fact that I wasn’t going to be a college professor, but now they know that I am much happier with the way things pan out. There is life outside of school! Good luck! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much for (another :p) thoughtful comment. I am hoping not to completely burn out before I finish the masters, but knowing in advance that I likely won’t use it can be discouraging. That’s so swell that you tune pianos now. I hope I can find just the right thing for me after school too. 🙂

      Like

  3. i’m also chiming in here because the story of school dramas i have been at too… my university has a system that if in the first year you do not get a minimum number of points (and that number is rather high mind you) then you can either restart if you decide to do so by the end of the first semester, or you get kicked out… i had quite some difficulty so i decided to restart, then after a week i found out i was actually still good, but now i had to restart because i already handed in the decision. this year i finally managed the whole year, despite injuring myself and not being able to attend a lot of stuff in the spring.
    and i agree to above comments: it is not necessary to continue if you dont want to.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t finished reading yet, but I must say, I envy you deeply for skipping a grade.
    PS Laughing Man, I see you! You just made my day!

    Liked by 2 people

  1. Pingback: I Bought a New Tarot Card Deck | Shelley in the Rain

Leave a Reply

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

Blut und Hexenkunst

All things Hexerei

The Novel Faery

The adventures of a novelist, crazy cat lady, avid tea drinker, and chronic pain sufferer.

All in the Folk

A blog about Germanic Mythology & Folklore & Culture

Theodish Heathen

by Swain Wodening

corvusbruxoiberico.wordpress.com/

A blog to pour down my thoughts and experiences as a solitary Spanish Traditional Witch. And a place to meet and share in a Digital Sabbath... until we meet in Spirit

The Lone Heathen

The Lone Heathen - Solitary Practice In An Overcrowded World

Þunresfolc Heorþ

The thew of Þunresfolc Heorþ

Sundorwīc

5th century religion- 21st century living

The Ealdríce Théodish Fellowship

Anglo-Saxon Theodish Belief

"The Lokean"

...Because that's how it appears in search engines. -Ren (Tyrienne)

Everyday Asperger's

Life through the eyes of a female with Aspergers

Everyday Aspie

Relationships through the eyes of an autistic

amor et mortem

A foray into the phantasmagoria of everyday living by a polytheistic priestess and champion of the Humanities

Foxglove & Firmitas

Life, Death, & the Polytheist Revival

Misty Eyes

following where ancients have gone

Beth Wodandis Designs

Walk Your Path with Audacity

Silver and Gold

Musings of a Vanic Priestess (Freya: The Gold Thread)

The Book Addict's Guide to MBTI:

Literary, Historical & Fictional MBTI

Terri's Airy Fairie World

Musings on Music, Tea, Gardening, Food & Life...

The Dreaming Wood

paganism-natural history-witchcraft

Derek's Magick

My journey into traditional witchcraft

Grumpy Old Witchcraft

Cassandra Latham-Jones

The writings of Hrafnsson

A personal exploration of my Northern Faith. Join me as I stretch my wings and open my mind.

Crows For Dinner

The Wild Hunt for Inner Peace

Arcanus Sinistra

The Hidden Left Hand

