Pieces of Me: Tea!

“Tea! That’s all I needed. A good cup of tea. A superheated infusion of free radicals and tannin. Just the thing for heating the synapses.” — the Tenth Doctor

Why exactly the doctor refers to tea as containing free radicals – I really don’t know. Perhaps his brain was still regenerating 😮 Moving on then – Tea! I love tea! I used to drink coffee everyday, throwing in the occasional cup of bagged green tea from time to time, Eventually, I started replacing my evening coffee with green tea. Sometime towards the end of 2012 I thought I’d see about loose leaf tea. several teapots and 400+ different teas later, I’m still learning more about wonderful Camellia Sinensis and coffee has taken the back seat. Yes, I have tried over 400 different teas. I keep them all logged in a spreadsheet so that I don’t lose track of what I like or don’t like (good tea is too expensive to accidentally repurchase a nope) I don’t drink herbal tea often, but I like peppermint, bamboo, and hibiscus teas sometimes. I don’t like chamomile at all, which is sad since it’s in so many herbal tea blends. I’m also not a huge fan of “dessert teas” (heavily flavored teas from places such as Teavana, Della Terra, or David’s Tea), but there are exceptions. I love window-shopping for pretty tea-wares, but I try to keep my own collection small and practical (I don’t have enough space to collect too much stuff). Here are some of my tea-wares:

Glass Teapot

Glass Teapot

tea-for-one set

tea-for-one set

12oz glass teapot

12oz glass teapot

teacups and strainers

teacups and strainers

Yixing clay pot

Yixing clay pot

My favorite mug

My favorite mug

Kyusu

Kyusu

Gaiwan and tea cup

Gaiwan and tea cup

Posted on July 25, 2015, in Pieces of Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. druishbuddhist

    Have you tried a pu-erh? What did you think? I love a good tea, too, but right now I am mostly relegated to coffee as my drink of choice, until a new job comes my way… Hopefully Monday!

    I’m more than a little jealous of some of your teaware, particularly your tea pots. (Where did you get bamboo tea?!?! I would love to try that!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh puerh – such a complicated relationship. yep, I tried my first puerh not long after I got my first teapot – lemme see if I can find the comment I made about it way back when… yes, I found it: “it tasted like drinking fossilized caterpillar poop dug up from under a mossy tree. However, it left a strange malty sweet aftertaste, so I kept going back for more because each time I had to see if it was my imagination that it tasted so bad at first. And each time it tasted so bad. But now I can’t remember for sure, so I’m going to go brew another cup ^.^” since then Ive had some excellent puerhs and a lot of no-way, never again puerhs. I introduced my mother to puerh and its one of her favorites. I get my bamboo tea from http://bambooleaftea.net/

      Like

      • druishbuddhist

        *chortle* That’s quite a colorful description of pu-erh, to be sure! But it’s right on, from my only experience with it. Definitely a complicated relationship. Thanks for the link!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love teas. I’m foremost a coffee girl, but I’ve switch to tea in the afternoon and evening to try and lessen my caffeine intake. Earl Grey with Lavender and a splash of cream, or a nice mint are my favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Earl and me don’t get along (it’s my father’s favorite though). I very rarely put cream or milk in my tea, but I like cream in tea better than I do in coffee. I like mint in almost everything, though (its one of my favorite flavors). Sometimes I add mint to my black teas, sometimes I just have peppermint tea on its own – mint is yummy!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. An excellent collection. Really digging that yixing pot.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Y-you’re a Whovian too? =D (There’s no emoticon for happy tears, as far as I know, but I did my best.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Too bad this isn’t Facebook – there is a fantastic happy tears sticker emote there. But anyway, yes I am a Whovian, though I am late to the party (I usually am late to all the parties – it’s kinda my thing). I’m still watching series two 😮 . I’m also not one for marathon TV sessions -s o it’ll be a while till I catch up. But why rush a good thing? I hate it when I finish all the episodes of a really good show. That feeling of “well, now what?” is no fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, your teapots are so pretty! I just adore teapots. Honestly, I can never be bothered to brew any tea in them; I just own them and look at them and feel happiness. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to have a tea set that I got long before I used teapots, and I wanted it only because it was pretty to look at. When I finally decided to start brewing tea in pots, I was disappointed that that particular pot was better for display that use (it had a terribly drippy spout).

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Since you & I became acquainted due to tea, I love this page 🙂 And tea, of course!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Novel Faery

The adventures of a novelist, crazy cat lady, avid tea drinker, and chronic pain sufferer.

All in the Folk

A blog about Germanic Mythology & Folklore & Culture

Theodish Heathen

by Swain Wodening

corvusbruxoiberico.wordpress.com/

A blog to pour down my thoughts and experiences as a solitary Spanish Traditional Witch. And a place to meet and share in a Digital Sabbath... until we meet in Spirit

The Lone Heathen

The Lone Heathen - Solitary Practice In An Overcrowded World

Þunresfolc Heorþ

The sidu and thew of Þunresfolc Heorþ!

Sundorwīc

5th century worldview- 21st century living

The Ealdríce

Anglo-Saxon Theodish Belief

"The Lokean"

...Because that's how it appears in search engines. -Ren (Tyrienne)

Everyday Asperger's

Life through the eyes of a female with Aspergers

Everyday Aspie

Relationships through the eyes of an autistic

amor et mortem

A foray into the phantasmagoria of everyday living by a polytheistic priestess and champion of the Humanities

Foxglove & Firmitas

Life, Death, & the Polytheist Revival

Misty Eyes

following where ancients have gone

Beth Wodandis Designs

Walk Your Path with Audacity

Freya: The Gold Thread

The Diary of a Woman Dedicated to Freya

The Book Addict's Guide to MBTI:

Literary, Historical & Fictional MBTI

Terri's Airy Fairie World

Musings on Music, Tea, Gardening, Food & Life...

The Dreaming Wood

paganism-natural history-witchcraft

Derek's Magick

My journey into traditional witchcraft

Grumpy Old Witchcraft

Cassandra Latham-Jones

The writings of Hrafnsson

A personal exploration of my Northern Faith. Join me as I stretch my wings and open my mind.

Crows For Dinner

The Wild Hunt for Inner Peace

Arcanus Sinistra

The Hidden Left Hand

you found me.

where pat mosley writes things.

Mist to Open. Mists to Bind.

an Initiate-Priest's journey diving the depths

