ADF Dedicant Path: Home Shrine

I have been slowly acquiring the things I need for my Wéofad (altar) over the summer. I just received the last “essential” item this evening, a gift from my husband. Almost all of my alter items have been gifts from him. He is not pagan himself, but he respects and supports my own spirituality.

The altar itself is a three tier oak table, which I have placed in my study on the ledge that runs along the wall. I had the altar custom built to fit on the ledge. It’s not a lot of working space, but I like the aesthetic. For practical reasons, I can’t arrange the sacred center exactly as suggested by ADF. The candles have to be on the bottom shelf, where the open flame won’t be under another shelf. The tree only fits at the top – which is not too far off from suggested orientation – and the well is sort of in limbo for now. I have it tentatively placed on the middle shelf so that it fits in line, if not in perfect orientation, with the rest of the center. Eventually, I would like to get a Wéoh (representation of a divinity) to place on the middle shelf. Although not essential per ADF rules, Alaric Albertsson reminds me that it’s not a Wéofad without a Wéoh 😉 . When I get a Wéoh, I may move the well to sit among the three candles such that the candles sit as they are now, with the well directly behind them.

Home Shrine

Description of items:

The tree: a miniature artificial bonsai. This is the very first item that I received for my altar. Eventually, I’d like to get a couple more in order to change them for the seasons (the same seller from which the current tree came also sells a cherry blossom tree and a tree with autumn foliage). The tree I have now would then be for summer and winter.

The fire: Three tea lights in yew-wood candle holders. I love the natural and rustic feeling that the candle holders add.

The well: The cutest ever tiny tea cup with little feet on it. I want to get some of these tea cups for actual tea too. I chose a teacup for the well because I love tea so much. It seemed like an appropriate personal touch.

Offering bowl: A copper bowl with triquetra symbol. I thought the triquetra to be especially suitable for my alter since it has various neopagan, celtic, and germanic associations.

Other items:

  • A chime trio for initiating ritual or meditation.
  • The Sowilo rune gifted to me when I attended my very first ADH High Day (Midsummer) with the Silver Branch Golden Horn grove.
  • Incense holder for incense offerings.

Future plans:

  • place a decorative cloth or mat under the alter
  • obtain a Wéoh – preferably one of Thunor modeled after the Eyrarland statue (yes, I know it’s not Anglo-Saxon, but I like it).
  • obtain a chalice or drinking horn
  • add two shelves, mounted to the wall on either side of the altar to set up shrines to specific spirits or gods if and when I develop a close devotional relationship to any of them.
Posted on August 29, 2015, in ADF Dedicant Path and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

Blut und Hexenkunst

All things Hexerei

The Novel Faery

The adventures of a novelist, crazy cat lady, avid tea drinker, and chronic pain sufferer.

All in the Folk

A blog about Germanic Mythology & Folklore & Culture

Theodish Heathen

by Swain Wodening

corvusbruxoiberico.wordpress.com/

A blog to pour down my thoughts and experiences as a solitary Spanish Traditional Witch. And a place to meet and share in a Digital Sabbath... until we meet in Spirit

The Lone Heathen

The Lone Heathen - Solitary Practice In An Overcrowded World

Þunresfolc Heorþ

The thew of Þunresfolc Heorþ

Sundorwīc

5th century religion- 21st century living

The Ealdríce Théodish Fellowship

Anglo-Saxon Theodish Belief

"The Lokean"

...Because that's how it appears in search engines. -Ren (Tyrienne)

Everyday Asperger's

Life through the eyes of a female with Aspergers

Everyday Aspie

Relationships through the eyes of an autistic

amor et mortem

A foray into the phantasmagoria of everyday living by a polytheistic priestess and champion of the Humanities

Foxglove & Firmitas

Life, Death, & the Polytheist Revival

Misty Eyes

following where ancients have gone

Beth Wodandis Designs

Walk Your Path with Audacity

Silver and Gold

Musings of a Vanic Priestess (Freya: The Gold Thread)

The Book Addict's Guide to MBTI:

Literary, Historical & Fictional MBTI

Terri's Airy Fairie World

Musings on Music, Tea, Gardening, Food & Life...

The Dreaming Wood

paganism-natural history-witchcraft

Derek's Magick

My journey into traditional witchcraft

Grumpy Old Witchcraft

Cassandra Latham-Jones

The writings of Hrafnsson

A personal exploration of my Northern Faith. Join me as I stretch my wings and open my mind.

Crows For Dinner

The Wild Hunt for Inner Peace

Arcanus Sinistra

The Hidden Left Hand

