Seeking a Closer Relationship With a Select Few Deities and Possibly a Patron

I didn’t begin my meditation practice when I said I would. Off to a bad start already! 😼 lol. I had good intentions that day. But then they day carried on and ended before I knew it. The next couple of weeks were consumed with stress and school work. Today, despite all that I need to get done, I made time for my mental training. I included it as part of my daily devotional. Ok, So I have to admit here that a “daily devotional” as such hasn’t yet existed in my practice. This is something I am also aiming to remedy, along with regular mental training and meditation.

My devotional today was slightly more elaborate than I plan for it to be in the future. But I wanted a more involved rite in order to apologize to the Powers for neglecting them and to ask what deity I should begin developing a closer relationship with. I was sort of hoping to receive confirmation that I am on the right track with Thunor, but also anxious to learn if I am ignoring another who would be better for me to work with at this time. I still feel like Thunor has been with me most of my life, but maybe I am mistaken. Or maybe he is there, but there is another I need to build a relationship with as well. There are still many questions left for me to ask.

I asked the Powers to indicate via a rune, which deity I should focus my worship on at this time. I drew the rune Wunjo, associated with the Goddess Frige, consort of Woden. (ETA: apparently it is also associated with Woden – he is a God I feel no connection to and I am too intimidated by him to start one just yet – if he is indeed the one I am supposed to notice, I feel safer getting there via Frige first). I can’t deny that her name hasn’t been in my mind recently. Also, just this morning I was particularly drawn to a beautiful piece of devotional jewelry made in her honor. But, skeptic as I am, I passed this off as nothing more than my usual “ooh pretty thing!” response. Never mind that I had put a Frige-related necklace on my wish-list a couple weeks ago as well. But I put it there because I liked it, not because of the association with Frige. All this time, I have still been strongly drawn to Thunor-related stuff, even to items I would normally not like at all. For example, Beth, whose blog I follow, sells ritual cords (among other items) on Etsy and I had absolutely no interest in them until I saw one she made for Thunor. I am probably going to buy one as soon as I get paid on Wednesday. Before I saw the Thunor cord, I thought the cords were an “other people” thing. Because my interest in these cords was based on the deity and not on the physical item itself, I took that as a sign. The Frige jewelry, on the other had, I liked regardless of its deity association and didn’t think to make the connection.

There is still that lingering complication with a goddess from another pantheon whom I feel drawn to. I did ask, during my ritual, that any non Germanic deity interested in working with me give me an obvious sign. In the mean time, I am going to focus my devotions to the Germanic deities lest I take on more than I can handle.

Posted on September 27, 2015, in Paganism and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

Blut und Hexenkunst

All things Hexerei

The Novel Faery

The adventures of a novelist, crazy cat lady, avid tea drinker, and chronic pain sufferer.

All in the Folk

A blog about Germanic Mythology & Folklore & Culture

Theodish Heathen

by Swain Wodening

corvusbruxoiberico.wordpress.com/

A blog to pour down my thoughts and experiences as a solitary Spanish Traditional Witch. And a place to meet and share in a Digital Sabbath... until we meet in Spirit

The Lone Heathen

The Lone Heathen - Solitary Practice In An Overcrowded World

Þunresfolc HeorĂŸ

The thew of Þunresfolc HeorĂŸ

Sundorwīc

5th century religion- 21st century living

The Ealdríce Théodish Fellowship

Anglo-Saxon Theodish Belief

"The Lokean"

...Because that's how it appears in search engines. -Ren (Tyrienne)

Everyday Asperger's

Life through the eyes of a female with Aspergers

Everyday Aspie

Relationships through the eyes of an autistic

amor et mortem

A foray into the phantasmagoria of everyday living by a polytheistic priestess and champion of the Humanities

Foxglove & Firmitas

Life, Death, & the Polytheist Revival

Misty Eyes

following where ancients have gone

Beth Wodandis Designs

Walk Your Path with Audacity

Silver and Gold

Musings of a Vanic Priestess (Freya: The Gold Thread)

The Book Addict's Guide to MBTI:

Literary, Historical & Fictional MBTI

Terri's Airy Fairie World

Musings on Music, Tea, Gardening, Food & Life...

The Dreaming Wood

paganism-natural history-witchcraft

Derek's Magick

My journey into traditional witchcraft

Grumpy Old Witchcraft

Cassandra Latham-Jones

The writings of Hrafnsson

A personal exploration of my Northern Faith. Join me as I stretch my wings and open my mind.

Crows For Dinner

The Wild Hunt for Inner Peace

Arcanus Sinistra

The Hidden Left Hand

