I Bought a New Tarot Card Deck

I have been keeping an eye out for a tarot deck that I like for a very long time. I have seen individual cards that I like, but entire decks usually end up putting me off somehow. I certainly can’t work with a deck that makes me uncomfortable. I finally found one that I absolutely love. Its a “Nature Spirit” tarot by Jean Herzel. Here are a few of my favorite cards from the deck:

Nature Spirit Tarot

Actually, I love all of them, but they are pretty big and I couldn’t fit so many in a picture.

It’s been a very long time since I have worked with tarot cards, and when I did, I never was very skilled (I was a kid, after all). The last time I used tarot I (rightly) predicted that my family was about to suffer a serious loss. My mother dreamed not days later that it would be a fire. And thats what happened. I lost my cards in the fire and some time later, I found the same deck and bought it. I never used it though. I think I still have it somewhere, in a keepsake box. It was a small playing card deck that doubled as tarot cards.

So, needless to say, I am rusty and not familiar with a traditional 78 card deck in the first place. I will be doing daily single-card readings for myself for a while and getting familiar with individual cards before larger spreads or readings for other people. I’m hoping to be familiar enough with them by Yule to do some simple readings for my family.

I did my first single card reading today. My card was a reversed 6 of cups:

Six of Cups

I have heard conflicting advise about reverse readings, but I’ll figure out what woks best for my own readings after some time. The book that came with my cards does not give suggested reverse meanings, so I had to look it up.

At its most basic, this card signifies childhood and nostalgia for the past. Reversed, it may represent unpleasant childhood memories or possible regret for not fulfilling childhood dreams. The latter is more my case. I have been obsessively daydreaming about waking up in the past and starting over. Making better choices and becoming who I really want to be. I have spent too much of my life making due, compromising, trying to impress others, etc. It’s not that I haven’t done things that I want to do along the way, but they always involved a lot of compromise to the point of never being fully realized.

I wrote a post recently about school wherein I mentioned how long I have been in school and how I am tired of it. I have stayed in school as a safety net. It’s what I know, its all Ive ever known. I keep changing majors and collecting degrees desperate to find anything that makes me “happy enough.” But I am not happy here. I don’t want to be in academia any more. I want out. So much so that I am pretty certain about not returning next semester. Yes, I know its my last. If I hold out one more Ill have a masters. But why? to impress people? To fulfill others expectations of me? I won’t use it. I don’t need it. I have other plans for my future. But I hate disappointing people. Every time I have felt like leaving school, someone’s disappointed voice keeps me there. What is one more semester? It’s several months of my life that I could be using for following my dreams. I have been putting off change too long for fear of others opinions and fear of the unknown and unfamiliar.

I found this suggested reading of my reversed card and it really resonates with me:

The Six of Cups Reversed often suggests that you are leaving behind a safe, secure and familiar situation for one that poses challenges, excitement and spontaneous opportunities.  You had become bored and whereas nothing was wrong, nothing really had being happening in your life at all.  The outside, new environments and even new people draw you away from your old life with the promise of adventure and happiness. If surrounding Cards confirm, then you are more than ready to take your leave.  You probably have been for some time but were possibly nervous about taking such action.  Pack your bags and prepare to leave but remember to close the door and gate behind you for others may not be at your stage just yet.

Obviously, I didn’t have surrounding cards to read, but I have definitely been dreaming about change for a few years now. I just need to encouragement to do it and the strength not to fear outside opinion.

This is only a single card, not even major arcana – so maybe I am taking it too seriously, but I need whatever pushes I can get in the right direction. I can do this!

Posted on October 10, 2015, in Paganism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

Blut und Hexenkunst

All things Hexerei

The Novel Faery

The adventures of a novelist, crazy cat lady, avid tea drinker, and chronic pain sufferer.

All in the Folk

A blog about Germanic Mythology & Folklore & Culture

Theodish Heathen

by Swain Wodening

corvusbruxoiberico.wordpress.com/

A blog to pour down my thoughts and experiences as a solitary Spanish Traditional Witch. And a place to meet and share in a Digital Sabbath... until we meet in Spirit

The Lone Heathen

The Lone Heathen - Solitary Practice In An Overcrowded World

Þunresfolc Heorþ

The thew of Þunresfolc Heorþ

Sundorwīc

5th century religion- 21st century living

The Ealdríce Théodish Fellowship

Anglo-Saxon Theodish Belief

"The Lokean"

...Because that's how it appears in search engines. -Ren (Tyrienne)

Everyday Asperger's

Life through the eyes of a female with Aspergers

Everyday Aspie

Relationships through the eyes of an autistic

amor et mortem

A foray into the phantasmagoria of everyday living by a polytheistic priestess and champion of the Humanities

Foxglove & Firmitas

Life, Death, & the Polytheist Revival

Misty Eyes

following where ancients have gone

Beth Wodandis Designs

Walk Your Path with Audacity

Silver and Gold

Musings of a Vanic Priestess (Freya: The Gold Thread)

The Book Addict's Guide to MBTI:

Literary, Historical & Fictional MBTI

Terri's Airy Fairie World

Musings on Music, Tea, Gardening, Food & Life...

The Dreaming Wood

paganism-natural history-witchcraft

Derek's Magick

My journey into traditional witchcraft

Grumpy Old Witchcraft

Cassandra Latham-Jones

The writings of Hrafnsson

A personal exploration of my Northern Faith. Join me as I stretch my wings and open my mind.

Crows For Dinner

The Wild Hunt for Inner Peace

Arcanus Sinistra

The Hidden Left Hand

